A writer’s inspiration

I have often written about what makes me write and where I get my inspiration from. It is quite simple really, I get my inspiration from everything, absolutely anything and everything. Even the annoying kids who are playing on their skateboards outside the window are being stored away somewhere for future use.

This may surprise you, but as a writer it shouldn’t. From the lady who stops in mid walk to cross her legs and sneeze to the small child in the back of a car picking his nose there are everyday events that can be described to bring your writing to life. Think of everyday life as a rolling screenplay of everything that can possibly happen and it is playing out before your eyes, your very senses. All you need to do is pay attention and it is there for you to capture and use.

Individually, such small events won’t make a story, but they can add layers of observation and detail to your story that it will captivate the reader.

I have a folder on my computer with all my book and story ideas and from time to time one will call to me and I add to the idea, wrote some more notes and allow the story or plot to unfold a little further. Only when there is sufficient detail and depth in that story will I finally taker it to the next stage and sit down to write it.

I have three well developed storylines on the go at the moment, one of which has been growing for a number of years. They may lie apparently dormant for a year or more, but all the time, somewhere down in my unconscious mind, the work is being done and when I am ready to pay attention, it comes to the fore and demands my attention.

For one of those three story lines the inspiration came from a Facebook post I saw. A simple post about the bad habits of people and a whole book idea came forth. It is a beauty and one day it will be shouting at me so hard that I will have to write it. That doesn’t mean to say it is being ignored, it isn’t, it is being nurtured. My writing senses are on full alert and my notebook is ready for that spark to be added to the notes already developed.

For those of you interested in starting a home online business that can earn you up to $10,000 a month, click the link below and watch the video.

http://b2.trafficauthority.net/cp2/firefly

 

About purpleandrew

Andrew, recently diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome is a 53 year old former geologist always had short hair, suited & booted for work. That all changed when the credit crunch hit. Now a complimentary therapist, hospital radio presenter, and writer. Andrew writes crime thrillers, Young Adult, and fantasy books as well as blogging about writing and other stuff that he feels strongly about.
This entry was posted in creativity, observation, research, stories, The Handbook Of TOP TIPS To Manage Your Writing, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

